Saturday, February 8, 2014

Review: This Star Won't Go Out

Title: This Star Won't Go Out
Author: Ester Earl
Format: Hardcover
Publication: January 28, 2014
Score:
Summary: A collection of the journals, fiction, letters, and sketches of the late Esther Grace Earl, who passed away in 2010 at the age of 16. Photographs and essays by family and friends will help to tell Esther’s story along with an introduction by award-winning author John Green who dedicated his #1 bestselling novel The Fault in Our Stars to her.

Review: This book really got to me. I first heard about it through, who else, John Green. I'd actually first heard about Ester through John's vlog when I watched all of the Vlogbrothers old videos last year. She was a friend of his who he had met long after she was diagnosed with cancer and ultimately was his inspiration for writing The Fault in Our Stars (though he's very quick to let us all know that Hazel is not entirely based on Esther and that Hazel's story is not Esther's story).

This Star Won't Go Out is a collection of Esther's journals and updates from a website her family had created after she got sick in order to keep their family and friends updated on her health. There are also many guest contributions from people such as her doctor, her friends, and her siblings. 

This book was a very touching read. It shows the darkness of depression that was inevitable in her life but  it also gives us a look at the positive, caring, intelligent, sarcastic, full-of-love 12-16 year old girl that Esther was throughout the duration of her sickness. Esther made a lasting impression on many people in this world and that's all that one can hope to do in a lifetime, let alone just 16 years. 

It is a long but quick read and I recommend that absolutely every one read this book. I especially recommend that any nerdfighters, fans of The Fault In Our Stars, or just any one who is looking for something that will tug at their hearts read This Star Won't Go Out. But be prepared, it is definitely a tearjerker! 

I'M BACK!

So, my one month hiatus for NaNoWriMo some how turned into a three month vacation. So what happened?

Well it's actually a pretty crappy story. I was doing SO amazing, my NaNo novel was really coming along. In the first three weeks I wrote about 45,000 words and I was well on my way to winning NaNo for my first time! I was participating in word sprints like crazy and was spending a ton of time on twitter with other writers cheering each other on. So would you guess what happened next?

My computer died. Actually it was my hard drive. Unfortunately I hadn't saved ANY of my NaNo novel which I still can't even believe because, well, I always save my novels!

As I'm sure you can imagine I was devastated. All of that work was gone in an instant. I had really liked a lot of what I had written and the story and the characters were all just so interesting and then poof, all of it was gone. I was so upset that it took me about two months to even bring the computer (which thank god I bought the warranty for) in to be looked at.

Today I FINALLY got my computer back and it's good as new (literally, it feel like it's brand new without all of my stuff on it).

So, as I said I am back!

I'm so so so sorry for being gone for so long, but I'm hoping to have some great things coming up to make up for it. Definitely a give away coming up soon and definitely tons and tons more reviews so stick around and sign up for updates over there to the left! And here's a look at a few of the reviews that you can keep your eyes out for soon:

The Secret Diamond Sisters by Michelle Meadow
This Star Won't Go Out by Ester Earl
Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi
Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi




Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Short Hiatus

It's just for NaNoWriMo though guys!! I will for sure be back December 1st.

My NaNo Novel is taking priority this month, I honestly probably wont even be reading at all because I work a full time job and if I want to keep up with my word count I need to really focus! I am so sorry but I will be back!

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Review: Six Months Later

Sorry I was totally MIA for a few days guys! Last weekend was my birthday and I spent quite a few days celebrating! And then, as we all know, Allegiant was released this week and I spent two days after completely immersed in it (expect that review tomorrow). 




Title: Six Months Later
Author: Natalie D Richards 
Format: Paperback
Publication: October 1, 2013
Score:
Summary: Chloe didn't think about it much when she nodded off in study hall on that sleepy summer day. But when she wakes up, snow is on the ground and she can't remember the last six months of her life. Before, she'd been a mediocre student. Now, she's on track for valedictorian and being recruited by Ivy League schools. Before, she never had a chance with super jock Blake. Now he's her boyfriend. Before, she and Maggie were inseparable. Now her best friend won't speak to her.

What happened to her? 
And why can't she remember?

Review: I loved this book WAY more than I'd thought I was going to. I first heard about it on someone else's blog and though I don't usually read mysteries I thought that it sounded like something I would like. I hadn't really heard anything else about it though so I didn't have too high of expectations for it. I didn't realize that I would love it as much as I did!

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Review: After Eden (After Eden #1)

Title: After Eden
Author: Helen Douglas
Format: E-Arc Provided by Netgalley
Publication: November 5, 2013

Score: 
Summary: 
 Eden Anfield loves puzzles, so when mysterious new boy Ryan Westland shows up at her school she's hooked. On the face of it, he's a typical American teenager. So why doesn't he recognise pizza? And how come he hasn't heard of Hitler? What puzzles Eden the most, however, is the interest he's taking in her. 

As Eden starts to fall in love with Ryan, she begins to unravel his secret. Her breakthrough comes one rainy afternoon when she stumbles across a book in Ryan's bedroom - a biography of her best friend - written over fifty years in the future. Confronting Ryan, she discovers that he is there with one unbelievably important purpose ... and she might just have destroyed his only chance of success.



Book News: Opposition Release Date Revealed

This morning Jennifer L. Armentrout announced that we finally have a release date for Opposition, the fifth and final book in the Lux Series. It will be released:

August 5, 2014


It's a bit longer of a wait between books than we are used to with JLA but she will be releasing a book practically every month until then so it makes sense! I for one cannot wait for it! Here is a sneak peak at Opposition that she posted on her blog last month:


Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Waiting On Wednesday #5


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that features upcoming releases that we are waiting in anticipation for!

Here is this weeks pick: 



Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I was Forced to Read


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week I'm talking about my top ten books that I was forced to read.

Monday, October 14, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?



It’s Monday What Are you Reading , hosted by Sheila, is a great way to start the week! It will let me see what was completed last week and what I need to focus on this week! 

Here's this weeks list:


Saturday, October 12, 2013

Review: Fangirl


Beware: This review is more spoilery than most of my reviews.

Title: Fangirl
Author: Rainbow Rowell 
Format: Hardcover
Publication: September 10, 2013
Score:
Summary: From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.


A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Feature: Fall for the new New Adult

New Adult itself is a VERY new genre, many still don't even know it exists much less what is is. I love the idea of New Adult. I'm 25 years old but for the most part I don't enjoy reading adult novels. Young Adult is where my heart lies but New Adult, which often reads like YA but focuses on older characters(18-25), could easily share that spot in my heart!

The only problem is, that the only NA reads I've gotten my hands on have been contemporary. Which is fine for now really because I do enjoy contemporary, but in order for NA to be a genre that I continue to spend a lot of my time reading, it is really going to have to expand!

This is why I am happy to announce Fall for the new New Adult:


Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #4



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that features upcoming releases that we are waiting in anticipation for!

Here is this weeks pick: 



Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Endings


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week I'm talking about my top ten best/worst series endings. 

Monday, October 7, 2013

Review: Please Ignore Vera Dietz

Title: Please Ignore Vera Dietz
Author: A. S. King 
Format: Hardcover
Publication: October 12, 2010
Score:
Summary: 
Vera’s spent her whole life secretly in love with her best friend, Charlie Kahn. And over the years she’s kept a lot of his secrets. Even after he betrayed her. Even after he ruined everything.

So when Charlie dies in dark circumstances, Vera knows a lot more than anyone—the kids at school, his family, even the police. But will she emerge to clear his name? Does she even want to?

Edgy and gripping, Please Ignore Vera Dietz is an unforgettable novel: smart, funny, dramatic, and always surprising.

Review: Wow. This book was simply amazing.

It was the first book I ever put on my goodreads to-read list. It's been sitting there for well over a year, just staring at me, begging me to read it. But, as I often do, I kept putting it off because I never saw it at the bookstore and sometimes for reasons I cannot understand, I put off reading books that I am absolutely sure I am going to love. I really just cannot explain it. 

It's Monday! What are you Reading?



It’s Monday What Are you Reading , hosted by Sheila, is a great way to start the week! It will let me see what was completed last week and what I need to focus on this week! 

Here's this weeks list:


Sunday, October 6, 2013

Stacking The Shelves #2



Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews that is all about sharing what you've added to your bookshelf lately.

Saturday, October 5, 2013

Review: Unbreakable (Legion #1)

Title: Unbreakable (Legion #1) 
Author: Kami Garcia
Genre: Paranormal Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Publication: October 1, 2013
Score:
Summary :
Supernatural meets The Da Vinci Code in this action-packed paranormal thriller, the first book in a new series from New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia. 

I never believed in ghosts. Until one tried to kill me.


When Kennedy Waters finds her mother dead, her world begins to unravel. She doesn’t know that paranormal forces in a much darker world are the ones pulling the strings. Not until identical twins Jared and Lukas Lockhart break into Kennedy’s room and destroy a dangerous spirit sent to kill her. The brothers reveal that her mother was part of an ancient secret society responsible for protecting the world from a vengeful demon — a society whose five members were all murdered on the same night.

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Cover Reveal: Don't Look Back By Jennifer L. Armentrout

So, as you all may or may not know, I absolutely LOVE Jennifer L. Armentrout! I'm so excited to be able to reveal to you guys the cover to her new Young Adult Contemporary novel which will be released next spring. 

Without further adieu, here it is: 



Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Release Date: 04/15/2014

Synopsis: 
Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.
Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

Pre-Order:



Author Bio:
# 1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you've heard about her state aren't true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.




It is so beautiful and the synopsis sounds so intriguing! The animation makes it really unique and I totally wonder how that is going to translate to the paperback version. I really cannot wait to read this one! What do you all think of it!?

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Waiting On Wednesday #3



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that features upcoming releases that we are waiting in anticipation for!

Here is this weeks pick: 

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Review: Goodbye, Rebel Blue

Title: Goodbye, Rebel Blue
Author: Shelley Coriell
Format: Paperback arc provided by the publisher for review
Publication: October 1, 2013
Score: 
Summary: Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters